Our Lady’s Dowry: Ely, Day 9

So I just got back to the room from a lovely lunch with my roommate and a friend of his who came from Belgium to hear us.  We spoke mostly about history as that was a shared passion in all three of us and had a jolly good time.

I only have a few minutes before I must be over at the Cathedral again to get ready to rehearse for our final Evensong here in Ely at 4 this afternoon.  We will be singing it from under the Octagon, where the big Sunday services are held, and after singing at their Mass this morning I am very much looking forward to it again.  It is a very different experience than singing in the Quire so it’s nice to be able to do it again.  I was sad that I couldn’t run off to Cambridge for Divine Liturgy at the Russian Orthodox parish of St. Ephraim the Syrian again but such is the life of a choir member.  I will trust that God will bring me back there again.

The sermon at the Mass was really outstanding, in my opinion, as the priest was extremely “Orthodox” in his sermon, which was all about prayer and having a prayer life.  It was so very refreshing as normally sermons I hear in Anglican and Episcopalian churches have absolutely nothing to do with ones spiritual life or prayer.  I will write more about it later, that’s how good it was!  Of course I’m sure it won’t be nearly as good as Fr. Chris’ sermon back at St. Stephen’s in Springfield, his sermons are consistently great.  I am missing that little parish, and all of the wonderful parishioners.  I very much look forward to being back there next Sunday, even if I will miss England (I know I will).

Finally, I wanted to link to some of the videos of our choir from the service of Choral Evensong in the Lady Chapel here at the Cathedral in Ely on Friday.  Hope you enjoy them.  More later!

Richard Webster’s piece:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6eL5mgr6m4

Magnificat:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBBR8BO4518

Nunc Dimittis:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DnXr3eDtV8

Leave a Reply

