Leaving Our Lady’s Dowry

Well, the time has finally come to leave England, my England.  It’s a really odd feeling, you know, it seems like I’ve been here a lot longer than I have.  Probably due to all the rehearsals!  But we’ve had a magnificent run and had lots of fun along the way.  I have gotten to know my fellow choir members better, bettered myself musically, gone and seen places I’ve read about all my life, and even use a telephone booth.  That being said, I would have liked to have stayed longer.  Or at least gotten to Ireland.  *sigh*

Chichester was nice, even with the modern art.  It was nice to be able to actually here the other choir from across the aisle for once and with the organ so much closer it made things a little easier.  In total, over our time in England, we sang 343 verses of Psalms in Anglican Chant (which is polyphonic) so that made it all the more exciting.  And actually we often learned the particular chant in the morning rehearsal and sang it that night, that’s what happened yesterday with our morning rehearsal.  We had to learn 5 new chants for that evening’s service, our final one, and it was not easy.  But it was totally worth it!

I just glanced at the clock and realized it’s nearly 9:00 a.m. so I really must dash and bring my luggage out to the coach lest it be left behind because: *make appropriate hand gestures throughout* “If you’re early you are on time, if you’re on time you are late and will be left behind.”  That was out mantra throughout the tour and it worked quite well to keep us all mindful of being on time.  Perhaps I should introduce it to Holy Cross in September…  Hmmm, perhaps not.

Through the prayers of St. Etheldreda, St. Edward the Confessor, and St. George the patron of England, O Lord, grant us a safe journey and, if it is thy will, a safe return.

See you in Boston!

Leave a Reply

