Fountain Pens, Antique Desks, and Seafood Boils

These are a few of my favorite things.  Over the last few days I’ve been pretty quiet on here, if only because I’ve been rather busy at the seminary and trying to get a number of projects finished.  But I was able to spend a little time with my father, which was good, and I got a new desk out of the visit.  The desk is one of those antique drop-leaf numbers which, while having a smaller footprint, actually gives me more storage for papers and things than the old clunker desk that came with the room.  The best part is because it’s smaller it’s allowed me to rearrange things so that my room feels a bit bigger.  Yay!

The desk of a seminarian.  Be afraid, be very afraid.

The desk of a seminarian. Be afraid, be very afraid.  The killer rabbit is not afraid unless you have your Holy Hand-grenade of Antioch.

In other news, I finally found my other fountain pen which I had thought lost forever after the move from HC to SVS.  But, lo and behold, while I was rearranging things I found it at the bottom of a box mixed in with some other odds and ends.  This pen is rather special as it was given to me by one of my college friends around five years ago now.  It has served me well, and will hopefully continue to serve in its new locale.

On Friday night I had quite a treat!  A seafood boil filled with lobster, crawfish, crab, mussels, and shrimp.  I’d never actually had crawfish before and was so impressed at how flavorful they were.  Having been down to Baton Rouge and New Orleans before Christmas you’d think I’d have some while down there, but it wasn’t actually in the cards for that trip.  Hopefully I’ll be able to head back down there at some point for work, and get to visit those places I didn’t have a chance to go to at the time.

So that’s about it for now, I have no profound words to close out this post (not that I ever do).  Although you might like this Simpson’s opening a la Game of Thrones:

Leave a comment