Bahstin: Wicked Awesome

IMG_3310

In today’s liturgical theology class the topic on the syllabus was that of the funerals of priests and children.  It’s been a tough week for friends, family, for the area where I grew up, and for many, many people.  So, as you can imagine, I wasn’t really looking forward to talking about funerals.  But what ended up happening was a reminder of the power of the Resurrection in the form of the services, their prayers, and the reasons behind it.  So it was actually a comforting class, one that helped remind all of us of the mercy and love of God.

It’s good to be reminded of that mercy and goodness, and it’s good to be reminded that people are good.  It’s been pretty amazing to see the outpouring of support for the people of Boston.  It’s true that the whole nation has been affected, even the wider world.  I can’t tell you how awesome it was to see this on Yankee Stadium:

Wicked awesome.

It was also amazing to see Yankee’s fans linking arms and singing along to “Sweet Caroline,” a song which has been a staple of Red Sox games for the last fifteen years or so.  It was pretty cool to see.  It was, in fact, wicked awesome.  I have been teased frequently for using the phrase “wicked _____” in conversation here.  It’s funny how when you move somewhere new you start realizing all the weird local phrases or the odd pronunciation you use.

Bostonians, and more generally New Englanders, are tough.  We slough through five or so months of cold, bleak weather.  We have to deal with the Green Line; roads and alleyways that do not obey the laws of space and time (“yeah, I know where you’re trying to go, but you can’t get there from here”);  Renters’ Christmas (Sept. 1), on which you can find enough furniture on the sidewalks to furnish a house.  And then there’s all the other awesome stuff about Boston.  There’s the MFA and other museums, fantastic restaurants like Regina Pizzaria and the wings at Coolidge Corner Clubhouse; we have all the parks and paths through the city, with so many cool historical sites; there’s the music in the churches, in Symphony Hall, the New England Conservatory, and all the clubs and venues that have great music all the time.  Then there are the Red Sox, Bruins, Patriots, and Celtics.  Ah, my heart is aflutter.

While there are definitely downsides to living in Boston (read: August), it’s nonetheless one of my favorite places to be.  I have so many wonderful memories from my time there.  The one time we walked to get a cone of ice cream at J.P. Lick’s during a blizzard that dumped a foot and a half of snow.  Or the annual Greek Independence Day parade the seminary participates in.  And of course there were all the trips to Tasty Burger in the early days of the establishment.  And, of course, my “going away party” that I will never forget.  Then just all the times my friends and I would go into the city to find something to do, and never being disappointed.

I do miss the city, and my friends there, and I am very grateful for the time I spent there.  And I’m also grateful to be where I am now, with my friends here, and the time spent in NYC (although I’ve yet to have a good crock of clam chowder down here…).

So go out and enjoy the city you’re in right now.  Enjoy time with your friends and family, go to a good restaurant, go hear a good band.  Go and be the good people you are.

Leave a Reply

