Tired As A Dog

Image

Becky the Wonderdog relaxing

So it’s time for another one of those “I’m not dead” posts, this time in the midst of finals.  I will probably not be posting regularly till next week, and then I’ll be posting regularly during my trip to Istanbul and Greece, with posts appearing both hear and the St. Vlad’s Seminary website (along with Mr. Gregory Tucker who I’m sure is thrilled to bits at being mentioned on my blog).  It should be very exciting!  I still need to go get some mosquito netting and other items for the trip, since the bugs are killer at Halki where we’ll be staying for our Istanbul leg of the trip.

I had two finals on Saturday, none today (it being my birthday they Powers That Be had the forethought not to schedule any today), three finals tomorrow, one on Wednesday, and a few papers left to write.  Holy Week slowed my work progress to a grinding halt, and I was sick for the beginning on Bright Week and have been playing catch up ever since.  Seminary is definitely not for the faint of heart.  I’m reminded of an amusing prank on April Fools’ Day where someone rearranged the sign in the Rangos building foyer to read, “St. Vlad’s: not for faint or weary hearts.”  As you can imagine, the sign was met with much amusement from faculty and students alike.  It’s always good when we can poke fun at ourselves, especially since I find that it helps relieve stress most efficiently.

OH!  I almost forgot, the St. Vladimir’s Seminary Chorale will be giving a concert on the evening of May 20th, at 7:30 p.m. at Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church in New Rochelle, NY.  Here’s a link to the Facebook event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/336143649844573/  Make sure to come if you can make it!

Now it’s back to the grindstone to go over things to prepare for my Patristics exam tomorrow morning, and the chant and liturgics finals in the afternoon!  See you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

